How Romance/Erotica Novels Get It Wrong

romance-novel Romance novels and Erotic have become such a popular hit in our society today. There is a lot of controversy and opinions roaming around out there.

So when reading this article please keep this in mind. THIS IS MY OPINION!  sigh.. now that I got that disclaimer put out there let us begin with the ranting.

Romance novels and Erotic are lies. I can understand wanting to get away into a world of fantasy. Heck! Fantasy and fiction novels are my favorite genres! However, I know that they are fiction and unrealistic. They are simply an amazing creation from a brilliant authors imagination.

When we jump into the world of Romance and Erotic we hit a bit more in the ‘realistic’ realm. At least most woman who read them wish that they could be their reality.  When woman read these books they search for a love they don’t have or a sex life they wish they had.

However, the truth is do you really want a fake love like that?

Personally, I have no interest in Romance novels or Erotica. They paint a very unrealistic and unattainable image of love and sex. Love and sex are not perfect, they have flaws, and many of these books portray them as some epic fantasy. Many women have become unsatisfied with their husbands due to the image these books portray. They plant seeds in young readers of what love and sex should be about.

I am 8 1/5 months pregnant with me and my husbands first baby, who happens to be a beautiful little girl. I know and my husband knows that we would never want Marie to read a Romance/Erotica. Now I’m not talking about stories like the notebook people. I’m talking about romance/erotica, just want to get that out there.

I don’t want my daughter to grow up and read these books and think oh so that is what I should expect about love and sex. No! The view of love and sex in society is so disoriented and distorted. Making them seem like an object like they are nothing. Come on people! We know very well that love and sex play a vital role in our lives, and can both be an amazing thing and also be the most damaging.

No matter how hard you may try to disconnect love and sex, or emotions and sex it’s impossible! There will always be a tiny piece of you that becomes attached to the person you have sex with. Sex and love are an intimate thing whether you want it to be or not.

Not only that but not everyone has this epic fantasy of being beaten up and a dirty fantasy. Some of us just want to be treated with respect and loved. It is about being connected to the other person in a way that words can’t describe. Love and sex are meant to draw two people (married..yes I said it..gasp!) closer together. It is a connection that binds them together and makes their relationship stronger.

So for me, romance/erotica get it wrong. That said this genre is just not for me. If you enjoy romance/erotica than go for it! Just realize it’s fiction, and don’t hold it against your partner if they don’t meet that expectation. Romance/Erotica love and sex is not the norm, it is fantasy.

P.S I do not judge anyone, nor do I look down on anyone who reads erotica books, or has different views or opinions than I do.

 

4 thoughts on “How Romance/Erotica Novels Get It Wrong

  1. Romance and erotica have many sub-genres, and I think those can provide fantasies for people who have edgier desires. I agree with you that the disadvantage of romance and erotica can be if readers expect their partners to be more like characters in the stories. You only have to look at book covers to see handsome, well-dressed, well-muscled men. Of course, not every guy is like that. Nor is every woman as beautiful as the women on the book covers. In writing romance and erotica, I’ve tried to focus on people making connections with each other, to share emotions and trust. Sure, there’s physical pleasure in sex. But there’s also pleasure in finding someone you click with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

