Bone And Shadow |Book Review

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.
Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha…and the secrets of her heart.

I have heard so much about The Grisha Trilogy, and I’m going to admit the cover art drew me in. So I finished reading the first book of the trilogy Bone And Shadow. Here is my review of the first book!

Plot ***
Writing ****
Cover *****
Characters *****
Enjoyment ****
Pacing *****
Total star rating = 4*

PLOT

The Plot I felt was alright, I could see where the plot was going a mile ahead. It was very predictable. I wanted to see more of the war that was going on, more battle scenes etc. However, I think the first book was mostly for character development, and the main character Alina growing into herself, and her new role as a Grisha. So that is the main reason I gave Plot a 3* rating.

WRITING

Writing I gave the author a 4* rating. I think it was well written, and the scene’s and characters were described in a way that I could picture it in my head. I love when an author writes in a way that I can let my imagination take over and really get lost in the imagery, but also allow some room for me to create. I didn’t find many grammatical errors or have trouble with wording. Anything you had a question about name wise you could look up at the front of the book as well as a map if you got lost. So all in all the writing was fantastic.

COVER

The cover was what drew me into this series, to begin with! I love the cover art, it is simple but striking. The color choices for me were perfect. Black and Red just scream war and violence and interest. The image wasn’t too busy it was simple but well thought out.  Hence why I gave the cover of this book a 5* Rating.

CHARACTERS

The characters also received a 5* rating. I loved the characters, even though you had many cliche characters. For example, the BFF your secretly in love with, The sexy bad guy the MC stupidly falls for, the stuck up chick who gets on your nerves etc. However, the author did a good job at giving them individual personalities and making you fall in love with them. They are also written in a way that is relatable you really can feel for the characters and what they are going through.

ENJOYMENT

Overall I enjoyed this book greatly. It was a nice read by the pool and get a tan kind of book. lol Which is exactly what I did! I rated enjoyment a 4* simply because although I did enjoy it tremendously I could put it down. It didn’t overwhelm me enough to binge read it and not be able to put it down. Sometimes I would get tired and just need to put it down for a bit and then pick it up the next day.

PACING

The Pacing for this book was right on point! 5*’s The book wasn’t too slow and dragged out, and it also wasn’t too fast paced to where you got confused as to how you got to the scene. I think it was a good pacing of character development for this book. The first to a trilogy and it was mostly about character development, less about the actual plot. Which is fine for the first book in a trilogy I think. That way when the author does get into the nitty gritty dirty stuff we are well versed on the characters and why they make decisions the way they do etc.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

